The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the fast few years, mankind has experienced accelerated growth in lifestyle. This has been enabled by innovations in technology. However, the luxuries offered by these technological innovations need not necessarily prevent people from becoming strong and independent individuals.

One might argue that the prehistoric men were strong and independent in true meaning. They possessed the physical power to survive the varying climatic conditions and independently gathered food or hunted to satisfy their hunger. Reasoning by this argument one can argue that the current generation of people is not strong and independent when compared to the prehistoric man. However one must remember that with changing times the definition of a strong and independent individual has also changed. Being strong no longer means having physical strength but refers to intelligence and emotional strength one must possess to navigate the ups and downs of life. Along similar lines, being independent symbolizes the ability to think and identify what is best for oneself.

Going by the modern definition of a strong and independent individual, I argue that the conveniences of modern-day do not always hamper a person’s development. In some cases, these luxuries even bolster the person’s development process by allowing the person to invest precious time into important activities, which was once wasted doing perfunctory jobs. Recent advancements by companies like Google, Microsoft under the leadership of strong individuals like Sundar Pichai and Satya Nadella have enabled further innovations which have propelled mankind’ s progress.

In light of the previous discussion, I would like to add that the offered luxuries and conveniences do have their pros and cons. In modern times, becoming a strong individual who expresses free independent ideas has become a choice. People who use these luxuries carefully and not become slaves to these conveniences have developed into extremely fine and independent individuals, leading our society.