To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the ongoing era of globalization, the world is closely connected. For any country, most of these global connections arise due to cities that have been identified as global hubs. In this context, the statement does hold true. However, the question “What are the most important characteristics of a society?” cannot be answered objectively and hence I do not agree with the statement completely.

Different people might have different viewpoints about what characteristics define a society? An economist, for example, might be interested in the economic characteristics of society. For most countries, economic activities are concentrated in and around cities. In India, most of the import-export is done from Mumbai - a metro city. Cities also are home to government administration offices, the highest judiciary as well as educational institutions. Thus analyzing the cities does hold merit as it sheds light on how the country is governed, how the country carries out the judicial process, and what level of education is being offered to the people of the country. These analyses help one understand the economic environment of the country, the form of government in the country and the intellectual quality of people of the country. This significantly determines the power of the country at a global scale.

However, the cities are generally not indicative of the cultural, traditional and religious values of the people. An anthropologist interested in learning the culture and tradition of people is more likely to spend his/her time analyzing the life of people in smaller towns and villages. In India, smaller towns carry the torch for preserving cultural traditions. India is a multilingual country with more than a 1000 languages. However one would rarely find anyone knowledgable in languages apart from Hindi and English in the cities. It is the people in villages who learn the lesser know languages and dialects and make sure that their culture is passed to future generations.

This is not to argue that the people in the cities have lost their cultural values. Though many traditions are carried out by the city dwellers, they have not retained there original form and have been modified to better suit the tastes of the new generation. A good example would be the festival of Navratri celebrated in Gujarat. The festival is for worshipping the Goddess Durga and her nine forms. The people indulge in the traditional dance of Garba on the tunes of hymns and songs praising the Goddess. However, this is not the case when Navratri is celebrated in cities. The Garba dance is done on Bollywood songs which are more appealing to the city dwellers. In this way, the fundamental meaning of the festivals is being preserved by the villages.

To close, the claim is true to a certain extent in a modern era where most of the population and economic activities are concentrated around cities. But it fails to capture the cultural characteristics and traditions of a society that are kept alive in their pure form by the villagers.