Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Debates often focus on the role of school and its effects on students. Some people advocate the idea that a formal education prevents students from being free. In what follows, I will argue against this idea: while it is true that a certain formal education can restrain students’ creativity and the freedom, we are not justified to generalize this particular case.

At first glance, the thesis at issue seems false. If it iwas true, we should also concede that people who are extremely ignorant are freer than people who are less ignorant. And this consequent is false: how could people who are able to read and do computations be less free than people who are not able? By definition if a person can perform an activity that another person cannot, the former’s freedom is greater than the latter’s: the former can choose a number of options that is greater.

However, it is true that schools can adopt a certain methodology of teaching which can have deleterious effects on students. In particular, when learning totally depends on acquiring concepts, ideas and theories, students can be prevented from developing their creativity and imagination. It is not true that a student gets more creative by studying what other people have written. Creativity requires autonomy; autonomy rests on the possibility of developing your own idea by yourself. Moreover, when students are not engaged in the lessons, a likely possibility when they only have to memorize facts or idea, they are less likely to learn effectively: learning involves thinking that what you are studying is related to your own life.

Nevertheless, if schools follow a different educational principle, the education cannot be seen as an obstacole to the formation of students’ creativity; that is to say, the negative effects aforementioned can be avoided by focusing on activities that can develop the autonomy and the creativity of students. Such activities are quite simple: for example, debates and essays, by which students can express their own opinions. Of course, in some cases applying this strategy can be difficult: what about history for example? In this case students must know that certain facts happened. However, even if acquiring certain facts is crucial in history, room can be given to the interpretation of these facts. Students should not simply know that the Second World War began in 1939; they also discover why it happened and what it meant for a common person to live in that period.

In conclusion, the idea that formal education is an obstacle for creativity and freedom is absurd and questionable. It is absurd because it leads to an absurd idea, according to which people who are more ignorant are freer. It is questionable because schools can foster students’ freedom if they promote the formulation of students’ opinion – through essays and debates.