The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to

decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and

explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that the Movies Galores, a chain that releases movies, reduces its operating expenses by closing the shop earlier and diminishing the stock. In what follows, I will formulate some questions, which are needed to answer in order to understand whether such a recommendation is effective.

First, the author considers a store in downtown Morston which decreased the work time and the stock one month ago. What he neglects to mention is whether since this operation, such a store has been increasing his profit. If this was not the case, it would be absurd to extend an unsuccessful strategy to other stores of Movies Galores.

For the sake of argument, we can concede that this manoeuvre was effective. What the author should do in order to bolster his argument is to substiantiate the analogy between Morston’s store and other stores of Movies Galores. For example, imagine that customers of Movies Galores store located in Rome go back home from work after 7:00 pm. If this store cut the work time by closing at 6:00, as happened in Morston, he would prevent its main costumers from buy its products. The crucial question then is: are the new less expenses greater than the new incoming? If so, the author’s recommendation should not be implemented for the store located in Rome. Moreover, suppose that the customers of the store in Rome are old movie fans. If such a store did not sell old movies anymore, its profit in Rome would drastically be reduced. The central question is like the one mentioned above: is the new profit lower than the new expenses? If so, the store in Rome should not follow the recommendation of the author.

The author takes for granted that the reputation of selling high quality movies at low prices is essential to Movies Galores. However, is it so important? Perhaps, Movies Galores may sell low quality movies at low prices in order to increase its profit. Of course, this may mean a change in the customers. However, what if there were more customers? If this was the case, the profit of Movies Galores would rise and there would be no necessity of following the author’s recommendation.

In conclusion, although the author recommends an operation with the intention of saving Movies Galores from an economic problem, it would be better to explore certain variables before implementing it. First, the author should demonstrate that the manoeuvre in Morston’s store has been effective. Second, he has to enhance the analogy between Morston’s store and other stores belonging to Movies Galores chain. Third, it would be wiser to consider other possible operations, such as selling low quality movies and to prove that they are not as successful as the one recommended.