The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is generally true that a decrease in expenses will lead to a higher profit, however this is not always true. When considering the suggestion it is important to consider the negative repercussions of cutting expenses. The prompt assumes that cutting costs has no downside, which is fallacious at best. While too quickly writing off other possible solutions to their problem, like increasing costs. For this reasons the assessment is lacking information required to ensure a desired result will occur, and that their solution is optimal.

Decreasing costs will lead to higher profits if everything else is kept the same. However, closing the store earlier while it would with near certainly decrease costs, could potentially have huge negative ramifications for their business that were unexpected. 6:00pm is around the time most people would be getting home from work. Most of the time when people used to rent movies they would watch them at night. 6:00pm is a particularly early time to close their store and could have a large hit to their profits, by losing them revenue of people who watch movies in the evening. It might even be preferable because of this for them to open later instead of close earlier. What they should instead do is an assessment of the operating cost at different hours of the day, and the revenue generated from those hours of the day. That way they can find whether it is actually even beneficial for their profits to cut hours. For instance if at those times they are still maintaining a profit, just a lesser one than they had before, it would be preferable to not change the stores times at all.Without this assessment it simply isn't possible to determine whether changing store hours will be good for their bottom line.

Moreover the proposal simply assumes that cutting costs is the best course of action in the first place. They claim that damage to their reputation would be worse to their bottom line than cutting costs, yet this is not supported. More importantly even if it were true, it isn't even certain that increasing costs would hurt their reputation. For instance if their profits are down it is possible that other video rental stores profits are down as well. If the market collectively raised prices as a result of this it is entirely possible that Movies Galore raising their prices wouldn't damage their reputation at all. Since relatively they would still be "famous for [their] special bargains". To decide whether or not cutting costs is the preferable option they would need to do a study to determine the effect of increasing prices on their reputation. If it turned out that increasing prices did have a negative effect on their reputation, then they would need to access what effect that would have on their revenue. Specifically whether the decrease in sales is yet higher prices leads a larger or smaller revenue. Devoid of these assessments there is not way to guarantee that their recommendations and more so their dismissal of other option are valid.

In conclusion, while it is possible that the optimal situation for Galore to improve their profits would be to cut costs, their findings are inconclusive. It ignores the effects their cutting of costs could have on their revenue. While also too quickly dismissing alternative possibilities to increase their profitability. For this reason I would say that without the further inquiry into the subject ones is not able to determine their results will have the desired effect, or be the most astute.