The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum from the owner of movie galore asserts to implement some changes in his stores so as to recover from the recent decline in the their profits. Basically, from the experience of one of the branches, he decides to implement the same in other stores also. But, the statement which he avers are tenuous and contains no evidence or proofs to support his stance. some of his weak assertions are discussed further in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the owner declares to remove the movies released more than 5 years ago. The statement is too strong and senseless because the owner has no idea about the people's love towards the modern movies. In other words, if at all the author have done some research works on these aspects, he should have clearly indicated to show the people's penchant towards the new movies than the old ones. For example, a particular store among the ten has numerous residency, where the majority of the people are aged more than sixty. In such a case, the movies which are old will be more preferred by the most residents.

Secondly, the owner reveals that store in downtown Marston drastically decreased its operating expenses by closing the at 6:00 pm rather than 9:00 pm. The aversion is a bit weak since there is a possibility of acquiring more revenue in the time period between 6 pm and 9 pm is unknown. To exemplify, the people who live around one of the stores are all corporate employees who will reach only by 7 pm. In such a case, most of the residents will not be able to rent the cinema from the store. most importantly, a possible revenue from these customers are lost. this revenue might be more than the operating cost of the same store. To strengthen, there should have been some evidences to show that this idea would work for all the stores.

Thirdly, the implementation of the new recommendations to all the movies galore stores is what the owner asserts at the last part of his memorandum. The assertion is intertwined with the first and second faulty statements discussed above. The statement will be more true if he has presented little more statistical evidence that supports his stance. For example, some graphs or figures, he have analysed about the demographic structure of the people around the store. this kind of research study might benefit him to give insights to whether to implement the rules into all other stores.

In summary, the aversion by the owner could have been more strong enough to support his stance by cogent evidences. Thus, allowing the readers to be more convinced. The owner should have included more serious statistical figures since he deals the whole idea with revenue or profit.