The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

leadership is not a congenital trace in a human being, but it is inculcated within a person by practicing several things and imbibing positive elements from the environment. Leaders are demanded currently by any industry in the world. The best practical way to develop such personalities are not through competition, but by evoking the sense of leadership by instilling cooperation among the mates. I definitely go against the topic which is given in the question due to several reasons and relevant practical situations in the society.

Firstly, the competition makes the person blind and the ultimate aim of his thriving in an industry or any community becomes inane. Thereby, he or she might resort to an egregious situation to win any situation. To exemplify, a person, especially in an it industry, always thrives to be the best among the team. And if the team manager sparks more competitive nature among them rather than cooperation between them might lead to quarrels or some ill situation. The whole idea of leadership will destroy at this point and the game becomes more combative. if the team manager has supported the team members and pushes them to be more cooperative, might have resulted in knowing the leadership. Thus, this example illustrates to promote the learning of leadership through cooperation rather than competition.

Secondly, cooperation rewards more than what we expect. cooperation will definitely open up the qualities among the team members which is required for one's leadership. To illustrate, the two teams in a corporate environment with two basic different notions, on which they work - cooperation and competition. The team with competition as their idea will not reach anywhere, rather they will end up in different ideas of executing the task. Whereas the people who follow the idea of cooperation reaches a better place of stance and they cultivate more teamwork, understanding among the teammates, confidence and several other qualities. this clearly explains how such combative nature among the teammates can destroy the value of leadership.

In a nutshell, the leadership qualities should not be elicited by compulsion or putting the mates in a race, rather put them in a harmonious environment where they can think, discuss and cooperate with each other. this applies not only to one industry, but all including government, cooperate, sports and so on.