In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the statement above, whatever the endeavour beginners are more likely to make an important contribution than experts. In what follows, I shall reject this position by considering different fields, from those that are more technical (philosophy, maths, science) to those that are less (history, literature).

The author’s thesis is clearly false when the field at issue needs to have a technical background, such as science, maths, philosophy. First, consider science. What is it required to make a great contribution? At least, deep knowledge of maths, preceding theories and the functioning of the scientific method – all things that are obscure to the beginner. Is it possible for a novice to give a great contribution to maths? Of course, there is no reason to exclude that case in principle; however, in history of maths, it was very rare that a student who only knew elementary maths (addition, subtraction, multiplication, division) offered a significant mathematical theory. The same is also true for philosophy. In order to develop an interesting philosophical view, one should know what philosophers have already said and completely acquire the relevant philosophical concepts.

Some people may object that the author’s view is convincing when it comes to less technical subjects, such as literature or history. Before exploring this objection, it is necessary to emphasize that it cannot save the author’s position, which is a statement about all endeavours. In other words, one cannot hope to defend the author’s view by identifying some field in which it may be true, because the author’s thesis is about all endeavours and we have already known that it is false for technical subjects. Anyway, what about history? It is possible that a person who has recently started studying history makes a great discovery: perhaps, while he is walking around the centre of Rome finds out a particular artefact. However, this is rare: archaeologists, for example, should know what place is more likely to host important discoveries and, in order to know that, it is necessary a lot of experience. Some people can, however, point out the case of literature: writing a great novel does not require being an expert of some sort. However, this is not true: almost every great writers in history did a lot of work before making an inestimable work of art: usually, writers and poets were journalists and avid readers.

The only example that one could put forward to enhance the author’s position is talented people. Mozart, for example, had made a great contribution to music by writing beautiful songs since he was very young. However, it is also true that genius can be considered as experts who haven’t followed the path toward becoming experts: they are experts from birth.

In conclusion, the author’s position is not convincing at all. Maths, science, philosophy, history, literature requires long training before making important discoveries. It is vain to hope giving an important contribution without making fatigue, unless, of course, you are a genius.