Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the
societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility
of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.
Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own
position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting
your position, you should address both of the views presented.
n order to survive, corporations must make money. Successful corporations try and
make as much money as possible. Yet this incentive to make money does not mean
that a corporation can be a detriment to the society in which it operates. Corporations
have a duty and a responsability to ensure the well being of the society in which they
are a part.
Contributing to the well being of a society is actually benefical to a corporation
in many cases. One of these is making sure that workers are well taken care of.
Absenteeism and neglect while on duty are a big problem for corporations, as is
attracting the best workers, who hopefully will lower the risks caused by absenteeism
and neglect. One way that corporations can attract these workers is by offering them
generous benefits. If, for example, an employer includes with employment a good
health care plan, they will be able to attract better workers than one that does not, and
that will aid the corporation greatly. Health care plans provided by employers mean
that these people have at their disposal health coverage, which means that they have
the care they need if they get sick. This also might encourage preventive care,
something that has been shown to reduce the cost and risk of developing other major
ailments.
Another area where corporations providing support for themselves and society is
in the creation of human capital. Globalization and increased education means that
employers need a better educated workforce more than ever. One way that employers
can contribute to this is by sponsoring worker training programs, or paying for their
employees to return to school. This creates a more educated workforce for employers,
as well as may increase the loyalty of employees to an employer. An employee who
received an education sponsored by an employer may be thankful for receiving that
education, and may work harder for that employer. This creates a benefit for employers
and employees.
The main reason that corporations have a duty to contribute to the well being of
society is that they are a part of the society. Even though they have an economic desire
to make a profit, corporations also should think long term about actions they take
which could hurt their company. A good example of this is BP, after the recent oil spill
in the gulf. Their desire to make a profit meant that they did not keep up on all of their
safety regulations and standards, and the result of the then faulty equipment caused a
massive spill. This cost them huge amounts of money to clean up, as well as the fines
they had to pay for causing this. The biggest loss for BP however is that there brand
name will be associated in the US and abroad as the company that caused this giant oil
spill. As the spill was happening, many people boycotted the company, resulting in lost
potential revenue. They may realize that as they lose business to people upset by the
spill, that making sure a spill didn’t happen in the first place was cheaper.
Another reason corporations have to ensure the well-being of a society is that by
makign a society better off, a company may have more consumers. This is especially
true for corporations that sell goods for middle and upper class consumers. If a
corporation tries to bring people up and increase the overall economic well being of
society, they may find that more and more people have to ability to afford their goods.
This could generate huge new profits for this corporation, since their pool of potential
consumers has gone up considerably. Concentrating on the long term here means that
corporations can increase their pool of potential consumers.
By denying responsabilty to a society, a corporation is only looking at the possible
short term profits, not the potential long term ones. While in the short term it may work
for a corporation to ignore their societal responsability, it is advantageous in the long
term for the entire corporation to make sure society is getting better. The potential for
new markets, products, production processes and other beneficial factors that come
from promoting well being is quite large. This is something that corportions should be
ready and willing to take advantage of, and something that society should hold them
accountable for.