The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the statement above, the greatness can be ascribed to people only after their death. In what follows, I will reject this position. While in some cases it is true that people are considered great only after they are dead, there is no reason in principle that a person cannot be judged as a hero when he or she is still alive.

A first clear example supporting the statement aforementioned is Galileo Galilei. As is well-known, Galileo was one of the first scientists (in the modern connotation) who discovered the revolution of the Earth around the Sun and, by doing so, he refuted the traditional orthodoxy supported by the Christian society. We now judge him as a great figure, capable of rejecting what were considered platitudes. However, at that time, he was judged as a bizarre scholar, whose perspective was in strong contradiction with what was supposed to be trivially true.

Notwithstanding this example, the history of human kind is replete with people who become heroes and model roles in their life. For example, Mozart was celebrated as a genius after playing his works in Prague; Saul Kripke, who was acclaimed as one of the most important philosophers immediately after the publication of his theories on language. Incidentally, it is worth noticing that every year some researchers, writers, and politicians receive the Nobel Prize, who raises them among the most important people in the world.

Of course, some people may advance the reason according to which the privileged point for judging a person is temporally located after his death. In fact, there are more documents that can be useful to evaluate him. This is clearly consistent with the fact that historians have to wait a certain period of time before studying a recent event. However, it is also true tha the more documents we get, the more information there are; the more information, the less extraordinary our hero becomes. I can support this reasoning with a personal example. I had to write a thesis about Isaiah Berlin, a political philosopher. After reading his biography written by his friend Ignatieff and learning his mistakes and the difficulties, he appeared to me much less extraordinary than expected.

In conclusion, the author suggests an interesting idea that is true when it comes to certain historical personalities. However, it is generally false. First, a plethora of people are celebrated as great men when they are still alive. Second, it is difficult to estimate a person as a hero when we start learning a great number of things about him, as happens after his death.