The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author contends that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them but not by their contemporaries. Admittedly, contemporaries are constrained by their time, yet contemporaries can paint a more comprehensive picture of prominent figures.

Many individuals who made a lot of contributions to the development of arts, science and literature were underestimated by their contemporaries because of their transcendence of their own time. Take Marshell Mcluhan as an example. The Canadian philosopher was criticized a lot in his lifetime for his support of Technological Determinism and self-contradictory theories. However, with the development of social media and the establishment of “global village”, scholars finally understood the meaning of “media is massage”, the core claim proposed by Mcluhan, which means media can change human’s lifestyle, values and psychological condition in a subtle way. This is what is happening now, but for people living in 40 years ago when there was no smartphone or Facebook, they could not understand his theory.

However, only contemporaries can draw a comprehensive picture of an individual. For instance, the famous film director Roman Polanski, known for Chinatown as well as the Ghost Writer, was arrested and charged in Los Angeles with five offenses against Samantha Geimer, a 13-year-old girl in March 1977. Those who live after him may only watch his masterpieces which won the Golden Palm and the Golden Bear, but did not know his accusations of rape. Moreover, it is possible that people who live after them may only get biased and edited documents about their achievements. History is always controlled by the winners and never objective. Some people, thus, who in fact made great contribution to human-beings may become invisible even infamous among people who live after them.

In addition, contemporaries are more familiar with the historical background and thus make more objective evaluations towards certain people. For example, nowadays Chinese people regard Emperor Qing as a tyrannical and cruel ruler, but actually he made great achievements in unifying language and currency all around China and in drafting law. It is understandable that living in a more democratic nation, people now are angry about the torture used by the emperor, but as a ruler living in more than 3000 years ago in slavery time, he is far-sighted and ambitious.

In a nutshell, although contemporaries are limited by their own time, they have benefits in understanding certain people in more all-around way.