All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The speaker asserts that all parents should be required to volunteer time to their children’s schools. Admittedly, parents’ help is essential for elementary school students. Yet, it may be unnecessary for middle school or college students.

To begin with, parents can help their children who are learning in elementary school to acquire knowledge more quickly and more easily. Take the movie Wonder as an example. The hero in the film is a boy with facial differences who enters the fifth grade attending a mainstream elementary school for the first time. Under his mother’s help, he finally integrates into the mainstream society and can lead an independent life. Parents are crucial for the development of children, especially those in a very young age. When their parents are with them, those toddlers may feel more confident because they know there is one person who is behind them and can always back them in any circumstances.

However, parent’s help may be needless for middle school or college students. Teenage time is very important to cultivate children’s ability of independence, and they must know how to lead a life without help from parents, from trivial things like how to calculate an equation to important things like choosing to learn literature or finance as a major. Students need to make decision by themselves, not by others because they need to take responsibility by their own. For instance, Mao Zedong, the Leader of the Communist Party of China from 1943 to his death in 1976 and became the founding father of the PRC when it was established in 1949, left his parents at the age of 16 to take courses in Beijing. Without any help from his parents, he founded his own army in his 20s. In conclusion, independence can be cultivated after getting rid of help from parents.

In a nutshell, although parents’ help is necessary for toddlers who take elementary school, it is needless for teenagers who take middle school or university.