The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The speaker contends that the indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. Admittedly, the general welfare of its people represents the economic boom of a nation, achievements of its artists are also crucial for a great nation.

People's welfare is one of the most important indicator of the prosperity of one nation. Because only when a country is economically developed, it can pose importance on people's well-being. Take, for example, the nations in Scandinavian Peninsula where marginalized people like LGBTQs, illiterates and women can share the same rights and respect as mainstream white males. Even President Trump regard countries like Finland and Sweden as dreamed paradise in which people are more inclusive and never judge others because of their color or sex. The reason behind the utopian life in Northern Europe is that residents there are relatively wealthier than most other nations in the world and thus the government has enough cash to pay a large amount of money on education and public facilities like museum and art galleries so that citizens living there are more educated and tolerant.

However, the achievements of artists can also represent the great spirit of a nation. For instance, those avant-garde film directors in the French New Wave like Varda created thousands of masterpieces which can still overwhelm cinephiles all around the world. Watching those brilliant cinemas, audience can feel the sense of liberty and the quest for dream. Take the film Breathless as an example. When the protagonists running in the Palace Louvre, they laugh and they run as hard as they can. That is life with passion, soul of liberty. And that is exactly what French are chasing for centuries from the French Revolution to the protest nowadays against monopolies and corrupted government. Thus, the core spirit can be shown in the works of artists of that nation.

In addition, achievements in the field of art and literature can represent the unique characteristic of one nation. The reason why the American people strived for their literature works after the establishment of the United States was that they recognized that new Americans did not have a particular identity which differentiated themselves from Europeans. And from reading works written by native writers can residents find their own identity. Giants like Edgar Allan Poe and Mark Twain gradually established Americans' own characteristics- open, optimistic and adventurous by creating novels like The Fall of the House of Usher and The Adventures Huckberry Finn. Those masterpieces are totally different from the tedious European counterparts and are remarkable of the use of dialects and laconic style.

In a nutshell, achievements of artists can represent the spirit of a nation and cultivate a nation's unique identity.