All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Parents taking time to their children’s school looks like a very unique idea and as a student I would always want this to happen. But, this might have some practical issues.

Hypothetically, if we assume that parents come to school to volunteer, it’s going to be a very varied experience for them. Parents have had a very different experience of school in their days. They had to walk to their school, teachers were allowed to hit students. They used to follow their teachers in all aspects. Students had only textbooks to study and Library was a boon to them. But now things have changed completely. Every student in High School has some gadget that keeps him connected to the internet. They have the freedom to study or read or watch or listen to whatever they want. This has completely changed the roles of school. And with that, the roles of parents has also changed. If the internet is a boon or bane is another debatable topic. Parents need to keep a check on what their children are upto. Parents are exposing their children to internet at a very young age. But children are naive by them. They might get attracted to many wrong things. Internet is the new age electricity. To quote the famous line of Spiderman “With great power comes great responsibility.” This is the responsibility of the parents till their children become mature enough to define right and wrong. Interaction with teachers will help them understand the new generation. Teachers always have the knowledge of what the current generation is upto and what the next generation is going to be.

In Urban areas of India, the nuclear family system is more popular. Such families have both parents working. Students are in their school for 8-10 hours and with their parents for hardly 3-4 hours. Parents coming to school is going to give a positive message to the children. Sometimes, proving someone that you love them is by giving something precious; like time. Students face many difficulties in school. Every child is unique but curriculum is standard for everyone. Not everyone is going to do well. If at such times parents come to support their children, they will not feel stressed.

A parents teachers committee can have a huge impact on understanding the needs of children and bringing according changes to the curriculum. We see children blaming their parents for their failure. Children leave their parents for not understanding them. All this will be reduced by this one small step.

It is difficult for the parents to take time but if they try it is always possible.