The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human always want to keep their foot prints in their respective fields .But sometimes it is not possible to achieve that success in their life time .It is stated that the greatness of people only can be decided after their pass way rather than their living time .In my opinion I mostly agree with this for some reasons .

Firstly ,when people try to acquire success and try to invent something it takes a lot of time,especially in the science field. Some people can invent the thing that he wanted to invent on the first place where as some people reach to other destinations in a delayed phase. It takes plethora of time to invent something worthy for the human kind .Some times if that particular scientist could not finish what he had started in the very beginning ,other people try to finish it after his death .In our world ,we see ample of examples regarding it .For example ,NIcolaus first invented that Sun is the center of the universe .But that time lots of people protested against this theory ,he even faced humiliation in his life time for this unusual invention .But centuries later when Galileo invented telescope ,it was proved that Sun is actually the center of the universe not the earth .And that’s how even after his death ,Nicolaus has got the first credit by discovering such an amazing invention of science.

Moreover ,when people try to invent something new or something unusual from the very first, he or she always face lots of obstacles. People try to prove him wrong or do not want to accept the way it is .For example,when any new law is introduced it takes a lot of time to be implemented in society .But later on as time passes by people understand its value and greatness.Ishwar Chandra is the first person who invented the marriage of widow hindu women which was a taboo on that time .But later on people accept this law and gradually understood the welfare behind it .And this law have been popular in India since then even after his dead .

However ,there are some contradictions with this where people get the desire result or popularity in their living time .In the field of sports or entertainment there are lots of examples regarding it .People recognize them in their life time as a good cricket player or a good singer or an author and people really admire their work .In the form of entertainment people always give credits to their contributions in their living time where as in the long term field recognition is quite arduous .

In our society different people trying to achieve different things from their perspective .And with the contributions of each of them our world is becoming a place for living comfortably .We should always feel gratitude toward these persons as well give their deserving credit for his or her works whether in their lifetime or after death.