The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current stan-

dards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of

Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken

when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline

in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of

computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made

citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on

fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely

the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that the decline in fitness level in Corpora is due to a decline in economy. Although he offers an argument which seems to be convincing at first glance, it is necessary to explore several variables in order to accept his conclusion without doubt.

First, the author mentions what some medical experts have said; that is, only one quarter of Corpora’s citizens are in shape, whereas twenty years ago, one half people in Corpora were in fitness. The assumption of the author is that this piece of data indicates a reduction in the number of people who are in good physical shape. However, this may be not the case. Suppose that since twenty years ago, Corpora has expanded and its population has significantly increased. Twenty years ago there were 100 citizens in Corpora, 50 of which were in a good health condition. At the present time, there are 200 citizens in Corpora, 50 of which are in shape. This clearly means that the number of people who were in shape twenty years ago is exactly the same as the number of people who are in shape now.

However, for the sake of argument we can concede to the author that there has been a decline in level of fitness. The author excludes a putative explanation for this phenomenon given by some medical experts, according to which the diminishing of the number of people who are healthy is caused by the introduction of computers in Corpora. In order to do so, the author cites the fact that the level of fitness is the highest among people who own a computer. Here the assumption is that owning a computer does not prevent from practicing sports. However, this may be not the case. Maybe people intensively use computers most of day and this prevents them from having an active lifestyle.

The author offers his explanation: the decline in fitness is due to a negative economic trend. In particular, he argues that thanks to this development in economy people are not able to purchase fitness equipment or services. There are different assumptions. First, it is crucial to own certain fitness products to keep in shape. However, this may be false. It s possible that people in Corpora like jogging or taking simple walks. Second, the author assumes that the economic crisis causes a reduction in the number of fitness-related products that are sold. However, this may be not the case. Perhaps, people in Corpora have changed their trainings, which requires less equipment. Maybe they no longer buy sport equipment because they have discovered that it is low-quality material.

In conclusion, the author’s argument needs to be carefully examined before concluding that its thesis is convincing. First, the author should provide real figures about the number of people in shape twenty years ago and now, in order to determine whether there has been a real reduction in level of fitness. Second, it would be wiser to bolster the idea that people owning computers are those who are in a good physical condition. Finally, the author has to prove that fitness-related equipment is crucial for being in shape in Corpora.