“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards
for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of
Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken
when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline
in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of
computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made
citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on
fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely
the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”
The magazine article concerns itself with a common worry in this day and age: health. It
makes an intriguing connection, that of fitness and economic status, but engages it too
many clear logical fallacies and fails to present enough factual evidence to be a truly
compelling argument.
The article itself is discussing the fitness level of Corpora’s citizens, saying that half as
many citizens meet the health standards today as did twenty years ago; standing alone,
it is persuasive evidence that helps the article’s argument. It is the article’s own words
that undercuts its efficacy. By clarifying that there are “current standards” and “standards
as then defined,” the writer questions his or her own connection without
acknowledging the possible repercussions of that change, thereby assuming that the
standards are similar enough for the difference to remain relevant. If that assumption is
incorrect, that is, if the standards twenty years ago are drastically different than those
today, it is possible that there has been no change in the citizens’ fitness at all. It could
just be that fitness standards have become more exacting and the citizens are failing to
measure up the way they did before, under the more accepting fitness standards. If this
were true, the article’s entire purpose would be undermined. There would be no
change in fitness levels at all, and therefore no cause for concern. This is a major flaw in
the argument and should be at least acknowledged by the author, perhaps improved
upon by defining the fitness standards, in order to improve the argument as a whole.
The author of this article also makes a tragic assumption by supposing a correlation
between high rates of computer ownership and computer usage. The author argues
that areas with high computer ownership are also highly fit, and therefore computer usage cannot result in lower fitness. That statement relies on the assumption that a
home has multiple computers because the people in that home are using the
computer. It is entirely possible that those homes are the wealthiest homes and own
multiple computers, but no one in the home uses the computer. Similarly, someone in
a poor neighborhood could not own a computer at all but still use a computer for a
great portion of their day at a job and/or library. High ownership rates do not
necessarily correlate to usage, and therefore the author cannot logically argue that
the relationship between ownership and fitness automatically precludes a correlation
between usage and fitness.
The above assumption has even deeper implications. As discussed, the homes with
high ownership rates could very well, and even most likely, be the wealthiest homes
in Corpora; therefore, the homes with the lowest rates could be the most povertystricken.
Consequently, the high fitness levels in the high ownership areas may have
nothing to do with their computer usage, for which we have no data, or their
computer ownership, which we have no proof they own, but everything to do with
their wealth and subsequent access to private trainers and gyms. If this were true, it
could help strengthen the conclusion of the article’s original argument by taking it on
a slightly different, albeit still economy-concerned, course. It would nonetheless
render the entire article’s actual argument false and therefore pointless.
As evidenced, the article engages in three major assumptions, both stated and
understated, which do a great deal of work in the author’s argument as a whole. That is,
if the assumptions prove true. The reasoning relies on data that isn’t provided and
correlations that may not necessarily exist. For that reason, the article fails to successfully
defend its conclusion. If just one of these assumptions were to prove wrong, the entire
point of the article would be thrown into question, and it is entirely possible that all
three assumptions could be wrong. The author would have to get a great deal more
data and add lengthy explanations of the standards upon which the article relies before
the article could have any hope of standing successfully on its own.