The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Not only a leader needs to lead the team or organization or a society, but also needs to gain the best benefits possible for the team. This cannot be achived just by cooperation, but also needs healthy compitetion to achieve this. I explain this in my next paragraphs with examples.

Firstly, Competition is needed to climb the hierarchy ladder provided by the society. Leaders evolve when then they climb these social or corporate ladders. We see politicions, busineess tycoons and CEOs in our daily lifes, but only few of they decorate the highest positon in the field, these people evolved into these positions and known to most people because they competed their contemporaries or the people who are also looking for the same positons. To illustrate, President Trump has competed with Hillary Clinton to win the USA elections 2016. Similarly, Virat Kohli, Caption of Indian cricket tem, has competed with his team mates -- Rohit Sharma, Dhawan - and become the caption of the team. One must compete to get achive these positions.

Building from the above paragraph, those all people who climbs this ladder won't become leaders. Those with the capability to lead their team with the people under them becomes the leaders. This can be achieved with bi-directional cooperation between the leader and his/her team, and team with their leader. To examplify, a CEO must compete with the board of directors and the vice presidents of the organization to become a CEO. However, unless there is a cooperation between the CEO and the directors, he can not achive the strategic goals. Also, as the directors also the potential leaders of their domains, they need to cooperate with CEO, and the CEO also need to cooperate the directors and allow them to get their teams stratagic gaols are fulfilled.

But only with competiton, people can climb the ladders of the government or industry but they connot stay there for long. As I mentioned in the above paragraph, the CEO alone cannot lead and achieve the strategic goals, he also needs the people working with him needs to be cooperating him and he also needs to cooperate them to get mutual benifits for their team and there by to their organization and become a leader.

To conclude, it is not just the cooperation allows people to become leaders, but the competitive cooperation allows people to become leaders. So, society needs to install both cooperation and healty competition in the young people to become leaders.