it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts then it is for them to learn facts.

Unless we apply the knowledge for the greater good of the society, what is the use of knowledge? The knowledge will have a real potential when a person can use it to improve the world with its potential,like Edison and Tesla did. I explain more on this in my next paragraphs.

Understanding concepts helps students to see the applications. For example, everyone knows that the hot air moves upwards. But what is the use of it? when we know hot air is less denser compare to the cooler air, we can build a ventilator in the house near the ceiling. Which actually makes sure the hot air goes out of the home and makes the house tends to cold in the summer days. Also, everyone knows about that the people can be attracted towards their business by providing the service for cheaper price or by showing offers, which could reduce the price of the service. The application of the knowledge matters, it not only improves the capability to apply but also improves to make things better. To illustrate, everyone knows cashbacks provided by the online wallets and stores. It is based on simple idea that people gets attracted if we show them an incentive (cashback), people will be using the services offered by them. But over the time people will be used to it. How to overcome this? to overcome these real-world problems, one needs to have diverse knowledge on not just the facts but also how the ideas and concepts. Like , how google come up with scratch cards, which are not just based on the human psychology for incentives but also based on probability. Which is attracting people to move towards google more than any other e-wallet, because of the possibility of the more earnings.

Though it is important to know the concepts, we can not say we will have enough time to understand everything, in that case, we need to go through the facts needed instead of wasting time, which is not productive for a person's personal research.To illustrate, is someone says Sun raises in the east, you can ask why is it raising in the ease and why is it setting in the west. But if your interest does not lie on the solar system and its understanding, it is simply waste of time.

To conclude, understanding the concepts and ideas actually improves the way a person sees a problem and help them think differently and also come up with solutions based his/her knowledge on different concepts.