Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We live in an increasingly complex world and information age. In this era where knowledge is key to survival, learning facts is very important. It is tempting to say that facts are the currency of the modern world and that students must learn as many facts as possible. I disagree and feel the more important is to learn ideas and concepts, so they will be able to truly understand facts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First, ideas and concepts are especially important in the education process. In the education process, students should have specific skills that are useful tools for learning facts. Students must " learn to learn", learning ideas and concepts behind facts and knowledge. Without learning these ideas and concepts, they will not be able to learn facts effectively. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, in the first year at the university I took the " Chemical Engineering introduction" course which taught me how to understand the concepts of chemical engineering and how to think like real engineering and provided me with the most important tools and skills that any chemical engineer needs in his work. Thanks to this course in the first year, I built strong backgrounds in my major study; So, ideas and concepts are foundations for learning facts.

Second, today people need ideas and concepts to obtain jobs and be part of a community; therefore, the purpose of school is to prepare students for fully participating in society by providing them with proper concepts, skills, and ideas. For instance, if someone studied to become an airplane pilot, it is not enough to learn where all the controls are in an airplane and what they do. Airline pilots should have an idea of what it feels like to be in a plane before they can be trusted to fly a real airplane. Similarly, for doctors concepts such as safety, responsibility and bedside manner are more important than knowing every single medical fact. All in all, learning ideas and concepts plays a pivotal role in getting the best opportunities.

In conclusion, for life learning, students must be taught the skills and concepts they need to learn, think and act on their own.