Private collectors have been selling and buying fossils, the petrified remains of ancient organisms, ever since the eighteenth century. In recent years, however, the sale of fossils, particularly of dinosaurs and other large vertebrates, has grown into a big business. Rare and important fossils are now being sold to private ownership for millions of dollars. This is an unfortunate development for both scientists and the general public.

The public suffers because fossils that would otherwise be donated to museums where everyone can see them are sold to private collectors who do not allow the public to view their collections. Making it harder for the public to see fossils can lead to a decline in public interest in fossils, which would be a pity.

More importantly, scientists are likely to lose access to some of the most important fossils and thereby miss out on potentially crucial discoveries about extinct life forms. Wealthy fossil buyers with a desire to own the rarest and most important fossils can spend virtually limitless amounts of money to acquire them. Scientists and the museums and universities they work for often cannot compete successfully for fossils against millionaire fossil buyers.

Moreover, commercial fossil collectors often destroy valuable scientific evidence associated with the fossils they unearth. Most commercial fossil collectors are untrained or uninterested in carrying out the careful field work and documentation that reveal the most about animal life in the past. For example, scientists have learned about the biology of nest-building dinosaurs called oviraptors by carefully observing the exact position of oviraptor fossils in the ground and the presence of other fossils in the immediate surroundings. Commercial fossil collectors typically pay no attention to how fossils lie in the ground or to the smaller fossils that may surround bigger ones.

The article states that the selling process of rare fossils to private ownerships for millions of dollars is unsuitable and provides three reasons for supports. However, the professor explains that the benefits of this selling process outweighed the disadvantages and refutes the author's reasons.

First, the reading claims that the public will not be allowed to see the fossils which may lead to a decrease in public interest in fossils. The professor refutes this point by saying that museums and schools can buy cheap fossils and not buying expensive ones. He states that for public view purposes it is not crucial the kind of fossils.

Second, the article posits that scientists will not be able to access and check the rarest and most important fossils. However, the professor says that this argument in the passage is unrealistic. According to the professor, usually after discovering the fossils, it will be checked first by the scientific community to decide the value of fossils.

Third, the reading passage says that there is a high chance of destroying the scientific evidence surrounding the fossils by commercial fossil collectors. The professor opposes this point by explaining that universities and scientific communities are not able to discover and collect all fossils. She argues that the scientific community depends on commercial collectors to collect and discover fossils.