The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the health magazine of Corpora medical experts say that only one-quarter of corpora citizen meet the current standards for physical fitness which far lower then the results from the twenty years ago. And to explain this decrease level of fitness, use of computer for a long time is reason but which found flaws in region where use of computer is highest. As per author opinion, low expenditures on fitness related product is one of reason of decrease level of fitness. But, the article in the magazine is based on the some of the unstated assumption which need to be examine for finding the correctness of article of magazine.

To begin, Magazine is comparing the current fitness standards with the fitness standards twenty year ago. But, no evidence provided that both the standards are the still same. It may be possible that previous standard was as strict as current one. If people of corpora twenty year ago are not as fit as now but due to low standard of fitness level many percentage of people meet the standards easily. If above point as any merits then it will significantly weaken the authors argument.

In addition, author of argument state that low-expenditures on fitness product and services is cause by the recent decline of economy and expected that expenditures on fitness product and services will increase if economy improve which seem flaws. For instance, economy in next year is get improved but people of corpora is not willing to expend much on the fitness product and services instead they will add this additional money on the investment or people of corpora more likely to spend money for travelling. If either of scenario has merits then authors claim does not hold water.

Further, It was assume that use of computer has no relation with the fitness by giving example of area of corpora where use of computer is highest. It is likely that people of corpora where use of computer is highest is more concerned about there fitness and they are more aware about the bad effect of use of computer on the fitness. Therefore, they take effect to make them fit and reduce the consequence of the effect of use of compute on the fitness. If above scenario has a potential the it will significantly weaken the claim of author regarding contradict condition in corpora regarding relation of fitness and use of computer.