Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

According to the author, we had better study heroes chosen by society in order to understand society itself. The reason is that these models represent the highest ideals the society believes. In what follows, I will reject the main thesis suggested by the author, although I will agree with the reason he offers. My argument is based on a logical observation: there is a tenue logic implication between the reason and the thesis.

The fact that heroes chosen by society reveal society’s highest ideals seems to be unquestionable. If this was not the case, why would heroes be chosen? Normally, people chose other people as their heroes because they are attractive; their attractivness can be explained by many factors but at least this should be conceded: they represent the ideals society believe or they are the means to make these ideals implemented. Incidentally, with “high ideal” I mean what society considers to be most important – there is no moral connotation. Therefore, Mussolini or Hitler revealed the ideals, dreams, and values of the Italian and German society, even though these ideals were deleterious and unethichal. They were chose by these societies as heroes, since they could permit them to realize certain project – conquering other countries, for example.

However, although the reason offered by the author is compelling is incapable of supporting the main thesis. In fact, it is possible to accept that reason and refute the thesis: there is a weak logical relationship between studying heroes and saying that this is the best method for studying society. Of course, heroes represent society’s creed. However, there are two aspects that are worth keeping in mind. First, there can be a huge gap between heroes and common people. Normally, heroes are chosen as such because they are superior: they have certain qualities common people do not own. Therefore, qualities of society cannot successfully be inferred from heroes’qualities. Mussolini was a shrewd politician, unlike a great number of Italian people, for example.

Second, it is true that models can change over time, while society remains the same. An agricultural society might be the same, even there are different majors chosen as heroes. In addition, there could be different heroes contrasting to each other within the same society. Just consider current Italian political situation. There is Matteo Salvini, who is appreciated by 20 million of Italian people and there is Luigi di Maio, who is appreciated by 20 million of Italian people. Lugi di Maio and Matteo Salvini has been displaying different personalities and political view. What can we say about Italian society? It would be bizarre if we said that the best way to study it is to study either Matteo Salvini or Luigi di Maio. What we found in Salvini, for example, could not applied to 20 million of Italian people.

In conclusion, the author support his reasoning with a compelling reason. However, his conclusion cannot be supported by this reason thanks to the logical form of the reasoning. Two reasons weaken the author thesis: heroes’s qualities and people’s are different; heroes are not very representative. We had better study common people for better understanding society. After all, society is neither less nor more than common people.