As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the statement above, when we have a more extensive knowledge, things become more “mysterious and complex”. In what follows, I will reject this idea: I will argue that while things become more complex they are not more mysterious.

First of all, it is necessary to make the statement more clear. Indeed, at first glance things do not become more complex and mysterious in accordance with our knowledge: there is a deep rift between metaphysics/ontology, which are related to the existence of things, and epistemology, which is about how can we know the entities in the world. Therefore, the statement above should be construed as expressing the idea that things become more mysterious and complex as they seem to be to us.

Now, a first reasoning against the author’s idea is that there is a contradiction. How is it possible that we improve our knowledge and things seem mysterious? If our knowledge is more extensive, necessarily things have to be less mysterious – otherwise, our knowledge would not have improved.

Of course, it is unquestionable that the world can appear more complex to us when we own more theories about it. The problem indeed is how we can give a uniform and consistent picture about a certain subject with a great number of theories, which are often developed by exploiting contrasting method. For example, how can we create a uniform picture of human behaviour when, according to a great number of economic theories, people are free to make their own decision and, according to physics, human beings are similar to any other object in the space-time, which is not characterised by freedom?

However, contrary to what the author argues, it is also true that in certain cases a uniform picture can be reached. In philosophy of language, for example, after knowing that the traditional theory is false, philosophers have offered a compelling rival view. The situation is simpler because we know what path we have to follow (the new proposal) and what road we do not (the traditional theory).

In conclusion, the author suggests an idea which is plausible at first glance. However, there are a number of objections. First, there is not a causal relationship between our knowledge and the world. Second, since our knowledge is more extended, things are less mysterious. Third, it is true that our understanding of the world can become more complex, but in certain case, we can witness a simplification.