A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

According to the statement above, there should be a national curriculum until college. In what follows, I will reject this recommendation by taking into account its advantages and disadvantages: I will show that negative consequences outstrip positive ones.

First of all, some people may argue that a uniform national curriculum permits students of the same nation to have same opportunities for college: in this case, there would not be any difference in the preparation of students. However, it is also true that a crucial factor for the preparation of students is not the curriculum, but the quality of teaching. Therefore, the main cause of difference in preparation and, as a result, in college opportunities is the preparation of teachers. It is possible that all students following different curriculum would have the same chance to enter college if they had good teachers.

However, there is a further objection: national curriculums guarantee a uniformity of the national culture. The reason is that if students studied the same subjects, their cultural basis are the same. Notwithstanding this, it is possible to have a national curriculum that is not uniform and strengthen the culture of a nation. It is sufficient to have a partial national curriculum: the same historical events and the same writers, crucial items for the culture of a state, should be taught in each school of the country.

Having a not uniform curriculum implies more positive consequences. First, it enhances the relationship between schools and territory. With a not uniform curriculum, it is possible to introduce subjects related to the students' territory in their education. It is possible, for example, have a more developed knowledge of the history of the local area or its more prominent people.

In addition, a curriculum that is not the same in the whole nation prevents student from abounding schools. Indeed, it is possible to have different schools that meet the necessity of students. Why should a student be forced to study advanced maths and geometry if he has a strong inclination to cuisine? If he is forced to do so, it is probable that he will abandon his educational path, without becoming a chef.