'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends that his television station restore "the time devoted to weather and local news". Before implementing this recommendation, a number of factors should be explored.

First, the author mentions the fact that last year the television station at issue received complaints and most of them were about the time devoted to weather and local news. Therefore, he concludes that the television station should meet the requests of the public by restoring the old coverage of weather and local news. However, in order to strengthen his argument the author has to provide information about complaints received before last year. What if before last year there were a great number of complaints about the coverage of weather and local news? If this was the case, implementing the solution offered by the author would not be effective.

However, for the sake of argument, suppose that there was not such a plethora of complaints before last year. The author cites the fact that last year local business canceled their advertising contracts. He therefore argues that in order to avoid that any other future adverting contract will be canceled, the television station should restore its coverage of weather and local news. Here the implicit assumption is that there is a causal relationship between the policy introduced last year and the cancellation of advertising contracts. However, this is may be not the case: perhaps, last year, local businesses failed and they were not able to meet the condition in their advertising program anymore. If this was the case, the position of the author should be weakened: why should the television station restore the old coverage of weather and local news if the factors that are responsible for the cancelation of advertising contracts did not concern the policy adopted?

There is another implicit belief of the author: restoring the old policy will not have negative effects. However, in order to support this assumption the author should provide more information. For example, he should exclude that the public's opinion has not changed. If this was the case, current public might be satisfied with the same coverage of national news introduced last year.

In conclusion, the author's position seems convincing at first glance. However, more information are required to enhance it. First, the author should make sure that there were not complaints about the coverage of weather and local news before last years. Second, he has to substantiate the relationship between the policy introduced last year and the cancellation of advertising contracts. Third, he has to exclude that restoring the old policy does not implies negative consequences.