The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends the use of fish oil to prevent absenteeism in schools and workplaces. Although the proposal is tempting and hides good aims – reducing absenteeism – it is necessary to examine some variables before implementing.

The author’s argument relies on a study related to the area East Meria. However, it does not seem the sample at issue is representative. In order to substantiate, his thesis the author has to take into account other cases. What if other studies reveal different results – that people who eat fish food are more likely to suffer from colds?

For the sake of argument, we might suppose that the study mentioned by the author is sufficiently representative. More evidence is required to establish that the relationship between eating fish food and not contracting colds is causal. The author indeed erroneously infers from the fact that in East Meria people who visit the doctor only once or twice a year are those who eat fish food on regular basis that eating food is responsible for not contracting colds. However, this may be not the case: perhaps there is another factor that can explain why people in East Meria do not suffer from colds. Perhaps, this element is the mild climate of the area; maybe that people own a favorable genetic code. In order to strengthen his position, the author should exclude these rival explanations.

However, much work is required. The author recommends the consumption of a substance derived from fish oil. Now, suppose that eating fish food actually prevents from contracting colds. In order to enhance his argument, the author has to establish that the main responsible for not suffering from colds is not any part of fishes different from their oil. In order to do that, the author might consider cases where people eating parts of fish different from their oil are more likely to contract colds.

Finally, the author assumes that the fish oil treatment does not have negative consequences. However, what if it causes certain particular disease? Perhaps, the body of people consuming oil fish cannot tolerate this substance. As a result, people can contract certain disease and this fact might increase the level of absenteeism. In order to strengthen his position, the author has to exclude that this is the case. He has to consider studies, if any, in which people eating food rich of fish oil do not display pathological behaviour.

In conclusion, the author offers a proposal that is motived by good aims. However, he had better improve his position to make it convincing. First, he has to take into account a representative sample. Second, he has to provide more information in order to establish that there is a causal relationship between fish food – in particular, fish oil – and the reduction in the number of colds. Finally, he has to exclude that the fish oil treatment does not have negative consequences.