"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, ho

Above argument appeared in a health newsletter stating that the inorder to trifle the number of serious injuries from bicycles accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating the people about bicycle safety rather than encouraging to wear helmets. The above conclusion might sounds relevent but is actually based on the unwarrant assumptions.

However, the conclusion can be undergrid if the answers to these questions are justified.

Firstly, the newsletter mentions about approximately 35 percent of the bicyclist wear helmet and after 10 years, it increased to 80 percent.out of what number where they considered with? There isn`t concrete data about what was the exact number of the bicyclist before ten years . And after 10 years too, the concrete data of the total number of bicyclist is not given. Before ten years, might be the population was less and the number of bicyclist was also less. Consider out of 100 people riding bicycle , 35 wore helmet. And after 10 years, the nmber of people riding bicycle might have reduced and reached 40. And 80 percent of 40 is 32 which is less than the previous year. So, if these evidence holds true then the conclusion is weakend.

Secondly, about the number of accidents that has increased to 200 percent , this again seems to lack the concrete data about the total number of the accidents ten years ago and after 10 years today. What was the number of accidents 10 years agon? on what basis are they comparing the accident percent without knowing the root of the number of the accidents? And they are mentioning about the people`s attitude as they feel more safer while wearing a helment and are ready to take the risk. People don`t invite for accident`s knowingly. Moreover,they should have atleast mentioned about those numbers. After a ten years period the number of population might have increased and that might have resulted in the increase in percent of the accidents. If the ratio are compared then , the ratio might be less with respect to the number of increasing population. If these evidences are correct then the conclusion holds no water.

Further, about the role of goverment to concentrate on educating about the bicycle safety, Wearing helmet too falls on that part and these are the minute details, they have to take care while riding a bicycle. How can they suggest government to focus less on such paramount factor that results in serious accidents as aour brain is the most sensitive part of our body. Nodoubt, the people should be educated about the bicycle safety. But less encouragement on wearing helmet sound irrelevent.

In sum, before reaching any conclusion without the warrant evidence and concrete data, the problems must be carefully scrutinized so that the conclusion could be bolstered without any vault in it.