"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the letter, the decline of amphibians in the park was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters. This explanation may seem plausible at first glance. However, in order to evaluate this argument critically, we need to take into account a number of alternative explanations regarding the studies, the environmental conditions, and other factors that may not sustain the survival of amphibians.

To begin with, there are some alternative explanations for the fact that the study in 2002 only found four species in the park and the number of each species was reduced. For example, it is probable that the study only sample some relatively small region in the park where there are little amphibians. Under such circumstances, this study would observe few amphibians, but this doesn't imply the population of amphibians are actually decline. Similarly, if the study is conducted during noon when the amphibians are hidden, the real number of amphibians will not be observed. Hence, without more information concerning the study, the argument is untenable as there are some other explanations for the result of the study.

In addition, even if the study reflect the real condition of amphibians in the park, it is still possible that the environmental changes in the park cause the reduce of amphibians. To be more specific, maybe the pollution in the park has become more and more severe, leading to the reduction of all the species in the park. Or perhaps, the climate in the park now is considerablely different than in 1975. If any of the aforementioned conditions is the case, the population and the number of species of amphibian will decline. Obviously, we need more information apropos of the record of environment condition in the park from 1975 to rule out these possiblities.

Finally, we also need to examine the rival explanations regarding other factors which are essential to the survival and reproduction of amphibian. For instances, it is possible that there are few animals in the park could serve as food resources for amphibians. Without enough nutritions to sustain the huge population, the number of amphibians would inevitablely decrease. Similarly, it is equally possible that the there are few suitable places for amphibians to lay eggs. If amphibians prefer to lay their eggs near the water while there are few river in the park, the number of eggs could be laid will not guarantee enough reproduction. In this case, the population will gradually decline. Consequently, it is of paramount importance to scrutinize these alternative explanations so as to verify the argument.

In conclusion, the explanation of the reduction of amphibians proposed by the author, as it stands now, is extremely flawed, since there are several alternative explanations. Only when the author could provide more information to rule out these rival explanations can the argument be confirmed valid.