Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Leadership, the foundation of the team working, has been valued and triggers heated discussion on whether it comes naturally. The competence of being a leader, in some people's view, is obtained with born and can not be learned. On the contrary, my perspective is that leadership doesn't come naturally and people are able to learn it.

To begin with, never should we ignore that the essential abilities, required by the leader, can be acquired and practiced. First, the ability to make the team members work together can be obtained by learning from successful leaders. By referring to other leaders face-to-face or on the internet, a person, who wants to guide a team, may learn how to maintain the relationship between team members harmonious. For instance, a sensible way is to involve all the team members in the decision-making process so that they can exchange ideas with each other. In the whole process, they become familiar with other and gradually establish intimate relationships, and thus the whole team will be more likely to collaborate well. Besides, a leader can also be taught to accept the opinions from subordinates instead of being stubborn with his own idea. Specifically, if a superior in a team always sticks to his opinion and commits many mistakes, he will gradually realizes that listening to other's opinion can help revise the possible errors he ignored. Then he will not be stubborn as before and lead the team to achieve success. Admittedly, these abilities or characteristics above can be acquired naturally, but one can also learn to be a leader by imitating others or learning lessons from his own experience.

In addition, being a leader not only requires vital skills, but also demands some professional expertise, which can only be learned after born. It is well acknowledged that a good leader should have a clear mind about what the whole team should do both in the short-term and long-term. For example, in order to lead a research team on autonomous driving, an executive should make a time schedule and set milestones for the whole team, so that the individuals in this team will have a precise goal they will fight for. This knowledge of managing a professional team is a huge engineer and should be learned systematically. Besides, a leader should also understand the professional knowledge background of each member. Only in this way can this leader assign specific tasks to each member in order to lead the whole team to accomplish the research on autonomous cars. For example, he may ask some of the subordinates to research machine learning regarding cameras equipped on the vehicle, and assign some members to study the path planning algorithms. However, these expertise regarding managing and the knowledge background of the team members is definitely impossible to obtain by nature. Only by learning these diligently can a leader have a comprehensive understanding of the whole group and the future direction of the team.

In conclusion, leadership seldom comes naturally since one will be onerous to lead a team without relevant professional knowledge. One can become a successful leader by learning basic skills and proficiency.