TPO 38 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Leadership comes naturally one cannot learn to be a leader Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

For hundreds of years, the debate over whether people can become a leader through learning is still fierce. Some may suggest that leadership is a talent and comes naturally, and one can never find a way to be a leader through study. However, I hold this view differently. I firmly believe that no one is born with leadership.

To begin with, as an old saying goes, "Man is the product of the environment." Leadership can be considered a special personality, and there are countless cases that indicate that people can acquire leadership through learning and training. Nowadays, books related to the theory of success and how to become a leader dominate bestseller lists. More and more business and military schools provide people with a series of courses about leadership formation, which includes organizing a group, leading subordinates to compete with others, and even taking part in real military simulations. These practices do help people to cultivate leadership. Moreover, take the famous WestPoint military school as an example. It educated numerous commanders and sent these excellent people to different battlefields. Their courage and accomplishments helped WestPoint military school set a good reputation and prove outstanding leaders can be trained through learning.

Furthermore, there is no scientific evidence that proves leadership is an inherent and genetic character. Plenty of cases have confirmed that; one of these is Abraham Lincoln, whose father did shoe shining in streets, but Lincoln has been considered one of the most important presidents in United States history. Besides, if leadership is an inherent quality, why do those offspring of politicians rarely inherit the position from their parents? According to a recent study conducted by Harvard University, researchers divided people into two groups and imparted the theory of leadership into only one group. Consequently, it turned out that only people from the educated group had aspirations and abilities to become a leader.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly that no one was born with leadership for the reasons discussed above.