Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education, one of the most important tasks for teachers and parents, triggers heated discussions over whether it is more difficult to educate children than before. Educating kids, in some people's view, is harder nowadays because children spend a plethora of time on cell phones and other entertainment. On the contrary, my perspective is that teaching kid is easier than decades ago because of the following reasons.

First, never should we ignore that, with the development of technology, it is uncomplicated for children to acquire expertise compared with in the past, reducing the workload of parents and teachers. To begin with, by using the search engine, children are capable of obtaining useful knowledge or finding answers independently. After typing in the queries into the search engine, they will be presented with assorted information related to their question and diverse angles toward a problem. As a result, it is not necessary for them to refer to their parents or teachers. Besides, students are able to have access to unlimited resources from social networking websites. For instance, on Twitter or forums, students are able to meet with established professors or experts who are laborious to be accessed previously. Social media provide platforms for teenagers to exchange ideas with these people and get instructions when confronting difficulties. However, in the past, what kids can do exclusively in such situations is to consult teachers, which will make them feel exhausted.

In addition, what should be highlighted is that digital equipment, such as cell phones or computers, can serve as teaching tools in the classroom, making it less arduous to convey knowledge. To be more specific, teachers can adopt some pedagogical approaches regarding these electronic devices. For example, during the class, the teacher can direct students to visit some websites, search some useful facts or background information, or view some related illustrations as well as videos. As a result, students will gain a deeper and more comprehensive understanding of what the teacher is talking about, which is definitely more effective than the old teaching method.

Admittedly, in contemporary times, some teenagers are indulged in games, due to the lack of supervision from parents. But even without cell phones or computers, teenagers are also likely to be addicted to other entertainment, such as playing cards or toys. Parents should always attach more significance to encouraging students to enjoy learning and restrict the time they spend on entertainment disregarding the type of it, no matter in the past or present.

In conclusion, educating children is not onerous as it was in the past because nowadays children can get access to information effortlessly and advanced technology improves teaching efficiency.