Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more

effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Homework, the basic part of each student's school life, triggers heated discussions over whether students learn more effectively when they finish it together. Individual homework, in some people's view, is superior to group projects. On the contrary, my perspective is that students will definitely learn better when dealing with group assignments together for the following reasons.

To begin with, never should we ignore that when completing group projects, students will learn more knowledge within less time, compared with finishing it individually. In details, within certain amount of time, students who work collaboratively will acquire more information and expertise. For example, in order to cope with the projects, students may go to the library to read some relative books, or search for some background facts or useful information on the internet. This process will definitely cost a plethora of time when students finish it by themselves alone. However, with group members who shoulder some burdens, each individual in this group is only required to do a certain part of the aformentioned tasks, after which they can share the information they gathered. As a result, during this process, each member merely allocates less time but gets considerable knowledge from others. However, students, undoubtedly, will spend much more time obtaining the same amount of expertise if they work alone. What's more, since each student has his own different advantages and disadvantages, group project serves as a platform for students to learn from each other. For example, by communicating with other members, not only can students consolidate the academic proficiencies that they are not familiar with, but also they are able to learn practical skills such as writing skills.

In addition, what should be emphasized is that when working as a group, students will get a deeper and more comprehensive understanding of the knowledge they learned. To be more specific, when confronting problems, group members could discuss together, during which they will learn from different perspectives and are consequently more likely to solve that problem. In contrast, it is impossible for a student who addresses the issue alone to come up with such numerous ideas. Besides, team projects reduce the risk of committing mistakes. For example, group members, proposing different ideas or even criticism, distract people from their original thinking mode or wrong comprehension. However, if a student only completes the project independently, he may get stuck in his stereotyped thinking mode, and thus find it arduous to have a right understanding of a certain concept.

In conclusion, it is sensible for instructors to assign group projects because during this course students will learn more efficiently and deeper.