The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company. "When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the author of the memo, the company should not use Walsh Personnel FIrm in place of Delany. The argument may seem plausible at first glance. However, in order to evaluste the soundness of the argument, we need more information regarding the effectivity of Delany, the comparison between Delany and Walsh, and whether Delany is superior.

To begin with, more direct evidence with regard to whether Delany's service is effective is required so as to verify the argument. In accordance with the author, last year those who used Delany found jobs more quickly than those who did not. But it is possible that those who used Delany are more competent than those who don't. If this is the case, even if they find job on their own, they can get a rewarding and promising job more quickly than others. Consequently, without more information about the laid-off employees to justify the effectiveness of Delany, the argument is untenable.

In addition, we also need to know more about the comparison between Delany and Walsh. The fact that only half of the workers found jobs within a year eight years ago doesn't necessarily imply that Walsh is less likely to help people find job now. Maybe in the past, the local economy is bad, and thus it is difficult for people to locate a position. Or perhaps, Walsh has more experience so it is proficient in such tasks now. If any of the aforementioned condition is the case, it is unsafe to conclude that the Walsh is not as good as Delany. Obviously, we need more evidence to rule out these possibilities before we could accept the argument.

Finally, another crucial piece evidence we need is about whether Delany is actually superior. The author claims that Delany owns bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. But this does not necessarily means Delany is superior. It is possbile that the staff in Delany is tyro and they are not good at helping people find a good job quickly. If so, using Delany may not be a good choice since it is less expensive to use Walsh. Hence, we should collect more evidence apropos of the efficiency of Delany and Walsh in order to assess the argument.<br>