Your friend is going to reduce living expenses, what of the following way would you recommend to your friend and why? Find a roommate or housemate to share the living expenses; buy some technology products(like the latest mobile phone) less frequently; shop for less expensive food to cook at home or go to the restaurant less frequently.

reducing living expenses, one of the most common goal of each family, is always being valued and triggered heated discussion on which is the effective way to save money. Finding a roommate to share house rent and life expenses, or buying new technology produces less frequently, in some people's view, are much better ways. Contrary to these opinions is my perspective that the best solution is shopping for less expensive food and cooking at home.

To begin with, shopping for less expensive food will considerably decrease the daily cost by purchasing discounted foods and fostering the habit of thrift. Firstly, more money could be saved, with cheaper food bought, compared with other approaches. To be more specific, the cheap food, almost expired and less delicious, is preferred by fewer people, resulting in lower price. if we buy this kind of food frequently, we can keep our budget tight. what should be emphasized is that, never should we ignore the positive effect of consuming cheap food. purchasing less expensive food regularly could increase the awareness of saving money in other consumption. this influence is neglected by most people. For instance, once we adapt to this kind of life, we will gradually incline to reduce expenses in other aspect of life, such as clothing or entertainment. However, this kind of habit won't be fostered when people only decrease the frequency of buying technology devices, which is still very expensive in the comparison of food.

what is equally significant is that cooking at home, a healthy and meaningful activity in daily life, will also help decline the living costs. More money, to be paid in restaurants, will be saved by cooking at home. going to the restaurants with friends, regular in everyone's life, will cost a great amount of money because we have to pay for the service in the way of tips to the waiters. this partition of life expensive can be saved if we cook at home. At the same time, we also save the cost of transportation to the restaurant. what's more, by cooking at home, people will become more healthy since they can control the ingredient in the food, instead of depending on the cook in the restaurant. we can make more healthy food for ourselves and keep a balanced diet, reducing the possibility of obesity and heart disease. Besides, the less people eat in the restaurant, the fewer risk people will take to get sick. Therefore, cooking at home could lower the frequency of going to the hospital, reducing life expenses potentially. this can not be achieved by just sharing expenses with roommates.

In conclusion, living expenses, a significant element in people's life, can be effectively decreased if we can shop for less expensive food and cook at home due to the positive impact on thrift and healthy habit.