While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the argument, teachers in high schools in the state of Attra should assign homework no more than twice a week. By referring to a survey to illustrate its conclusion, this argument may seem plausible at first glance. However, this argument is based on a number of assumptions about the amount of the assignment, the pedegocial methods as well as the condition in these schools, which should be examined critically to evaluate its soundness.

To begin with, the author of the argument assumes that the amount of the homework being assigned every time is the same in the survey. However, this assumption may not be true for the following reason. It is probable that although most teachers in the district of Sanlee assigns homework three to five times a week, the amount of the assignment assigned everytime is far less than those in Marlee. Under such circumstance, students in Marlee have to cope with more homeworks than students in Sanlee. Since the frequency of assigning homework doesn't necessarily imply the amount of homework, the argument will be untenable if it turns out that teachers in Marlee assigned more homework everytime in the survey.

In addition, it is also assumed that the condition in the two schools in the survey is the same. The author claims that students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to repeat a years' study. However, this may be attributed to another reasons. Maybe the teachers in Marless are relatively experienced so their pedagogical method is better than the teachers in Sanlee. Or perhaps, students in Sanlee are generally more talented or more interested in study. If any of the aforementioned condition is the case, students in Marlee will be more likely to have a better academic performance even if frequency of assigning homework is equal to that in Sanlee. Therefore, the argument will be undermined without more information to rule out these possibilities.

Finally, even if the assumptions above is true, the assumption being made regarding the judgement of the effectiveness of study. It is assumed that lower grades and less repeat school year could necessarily indicate the effect of pedagogical method concerning the frequent of homework. However, it is probable that the schools in Sanlee is stricter. For example, maybe the exam in Sanlee is more difficult than Sanlee, resulting in a lower average scores. Also, it is equally possible that schools in Sanlee attach more importance to the overall development of the students. They may judge students by their overall performance like extracurricular activities. If so, the frequency of homework may not directly affect students’ grades.