TPO40

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think it is a good idea?

Education, the foundation of children's life, has been valued and triggers heated discussion over whether parents should reward their children if they get good grades by giving them money. This kind of reward, in some people's view, is bad for children's development. Contrary to their opinion is my perspective that rewarding their satisfying grade can help students study harder and develop essential skills.

To begin with, offering students money for high marks is beneficial to their study, as it will encourage kids to study hard. It is well-acknowledged that children are not mature enough, they do not understand the significance of learning knowledge. Financial rewards, without a doubt, provide them with a concrete goal to strive for, serving as a motivation for kids to study harder. To be more specific, if they get money from their parents for their gratifying academic performance, they will be more likely to allocate more time to doing problem sets, reviewing their textbooks, or discussing with teachers when having questions. Furthermore, they will pay more attention to the teachers during class. However, without reward, children will not study diligently. Instead, they may sleep during class or spend most of their spare time playing computer games, resulting in lower grades.

In addition, never should we ignore the positive effect of rewarding children on the development of kids' study skills and money management skills. After a period of study, children will gradually find out how to learn knowledge efficiently. Children, in order to win rewards from their parents, have to discover an efficient learning approach that fit them best, otherwise, they will find it laborious to get a superb grade. For example, some children may find out that they can effectively learn by taking notes during class and reviewing it again after class, some may realize that they should better learn by watching course videos. The best way of study they found during this course will play an important role in the future when they enter college or after graduation. What's more, the money they get from their parents also helps them improve their ability to manage their money. After earning money by getting good grades, kids have to distribute the money appropriately. They should, for instance, accumulate the money for the whole year in order to buy a favorite toy, increasing their sense of thrift and allocate money wisely. Without such opportunity, it is impossible for them to learn how to manage the earned money.

In conclusion, only by giving money reward for children's excellent academic performance can students study harder and nurture their study skills and money management skills.