"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of humana university predicts that instituting online programs will help the school both increase its enrollment and relief the budget burden, due to the fact that the increased number of students in the online programs and the decreased expenditures in omni university. however, some questions should be answered in order to evalute the prediction.

The first question we need to ask is that whether the online degree program would stimulate more students to enroll in the university. Perhaps, in omni university, it is inconvenient for students to take part in classes. As a result, after getting such information from their seniors, many students choose to take online courses, but the total number of students who enter omni university remains the same or even decrease. if that is true, the online program will not be able to attract more students to choose humana.

Asides of the question about the relation between online projects and enrollment, we should also examine the question about the cause of declined expenditures in omni. is the online degree projects that help saved the cost of maintaining the buildings? it is possible that after omni has accomplished its construction or modification of many new buildings, they have already cut the budget of such projects, decreasing the expenditures for these activities. this means, even without a online degree program, the cost on such issue will also decrease. Besides, maybe with the online degree available, there are still many students choose to study in the campus, leading to relatively smaller decrease cost in maintaining the infrastructure. Therefore, the proposal in humana university will not realize its goal on saving their budget.

even if such online degree program can actually save the budget on maintaining the facilities, we still need to ask the question about whether the cost of online program will eventually help reduce the total cost. What is overlooked is the cost of building the online learning system which is competent enough to provide students with the courses they need. To achieve such goal, humana university would have to purchase many servers to build a online learning system, hire more engineers to maintain such system and ask teachers to prepare online cources, which is quite different with traditional classes. Admittedly, such project would help save the money consumed on maintaining facilities, the total cost to maintain the online learning system as a whole, however, will outweigh the that on the money saved. In this circumstance, the budget problems will not be saved.

it is understandable that the president of humana university is eager to solve the problems about the enrollment and budget. but it is sensible to examine the questions mentioned above in order to evaluate whether the online projects will actually solve these problems.