Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent During the same year Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space mo

The president of Humana University concluded from a bench-mark experience about online degree programs which are being held in nearby Omni University that starting these sort of courses in Humana University will not only soar overall enrollment rate but also will diminish budget and financial problems which are mainly suffered from increasing cost of buildings maintenance. Indeed, the conclusion lies on several faulty assumptions which are going to be investigated in paragraphs below.

First, the president assumes his university would optimistically succeed in absorbing new students in online courses similar to Omni University. By the far, this simplistic assumption contains a range of problems. There are abundant underlying reasons which guarantee the booming or failure of a business, including robust advertisement plans, quality of products, brand reputation, competitor analyses and etc. Only establishing an online system for providing internet-based classes will not necessarily guarantee an increment in rate of enrollments.

Second, the president roughly deduces that falling the expenditure of dormitory and classrooms in Omni University during recent years is likely related to establishing online programs. This weak assumption is also refuted. If the president wants to have a precise picture of expenditures, he must have clear information about the age of buildings, sort of facilities, rehabilitation programs in previous years, and so on. It would not be unlikely that Omni University allotted a considerable budget on rehabilitation programs in previous years and because of that, nowadays observers less yearly costs for routine maintenances. Similarly, if the president wants to lower down the expenditures for dormitories in his university, he must pay attention to information about age and quality of infrastructures in Humana University. Since much of the costs relating to maintenance of buildings caused by age and quality of facilities. For example, an aged piping system will definitely fail to properly pass fluids and show several adverse leakages, regardless of students present physically in the classes or off the classes.

Moreover, even if we postulate the analogous trends for maintenance costs among two universities, predicting that this projection will solve budget problems is vague. Indeed, instituting an online system for classes will charge huge expenses both for initial investment and for regular customer services. It seems that the professor does not have a clear view of these new costs which might be estimated over than he expects. Furthermore, the president does not have a precise information about the balance of budget in Omni university. As it is highly probable that Omni University might have been faced budget imbalances after projecting this new plan. Considering only some raw data about rate of enrollments and maintenance costs never could make a financial expert assured about the prosperous outcomes of a proposed plan.