The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the article, due to some reasons, the city commissioners argue that the symphony can be fully self-supporting and they recommend that the funding for the symphone should be eliminated from the budget. However, we need to ask a few questions about the private contributions, the attendance as well as the ticket prices in order to evaluate the argument and the recommendation.

To begin with, the article indicates that, aside from the funding from the government, the private contributions has increased 200 percents last year; but we need to ask that total amount of fundings from private individuals or corporations relative to that of the government. It is important to note that the privite funding until last year could be so little that can not make a different to the running of the symphone. For example, it is possible that the funding from privite source is only 3 thousand compared with 1 million from the government. If that is the case, the funding from private sector is still not very much, leading to a short of funding if the government cut the budget.

Similiarly, the incrase of attendance at the symphony's concert-in-the-park also deserve further investigation. Even if the attendance doubled, we still need to ask about the exact number of people who attend the symphony. Maybe only few people attended before last year, the number of audiance still not huge. Questions about whether these people will contribute to the income, on the other hand, also need to be answered so as to find out the income these increased people can bring. If the tickets are not required when attending the series, or if the cost of such series are so high that the increased ticket revenue can not make up for the loss, the symphone will not be self-supporting if it can not receive funding from the government.

Finally, we still need to answer the question about the outcome of the increase in ticket prives for next year. According to economic theories, consumers are less willing to buy products if the price grows. Given that the symphony announces that ticket prices will be increased, it is possible that some people will not choose to come. With fewer people attend the symphony, the total income might decrease even if the price increase. Therefore, we need more information, such as asking some visitors whether they are continue to come with higher tickets price, to evaluate the outcome of eliminating the government budget. If there will be few people attend, the income of the symphony will dramatically incline, making it impossible to support itself.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the city commission tend to save the cities budget. But some questions mentioned above are supposed to be answered in order to find out whether the recommendation is resonable.