Your friend is going to reduce the living expenses. Which of the following way would

you recommend to your friend and why?

1. Find a roommate that can share the living expenses.

2. Buy the new technology products less frequently.

3. Shop for less expensive food to cook at home.

Reducing living expenses, one of the most common goals of each family, has been valued and triggered heated discussion on which is the effective way to save money. Other approaches like finding a roommate to share living expenses, or buying new technology produces less frequently, in some people's view, are more effective. Contrary to these opinions is my perspective that the best solution is shopping for less expensive food and cooking at home.

To begin with, shopping for less expensive food will considerably decrease the daily cost by purchasing discounted foods and fostering the habit of thrift. Firstly, buying cheaper food, compared with other approaches, people will save more money because of the discount the food could has. To be more specific, the cheap food, almost expired and less delicious, is preferred by fewer people, resulting in much lower prices. As the food's speed of expire is extremely faster than other products, we can find cheap food everyday. With this kind of food bought frequently, we can definitely keep our budget tight. In contrast, the price of a certain technology product, especially the new generation, will not decrease for month, which means it will still cost much money in comparison to food. Besides, what should be emphasized is that, never should we ignore the positive effect of consuming cheap food. Purchasing less expensive food regularly could increase the awareness of saving money on other consumption. This influence is neglected by most people. For instance, once we adapt to this kind of life, we will gradually incline to reduce expenses in other aspects of life, such as clothing or entertainment. However, this kind of habit won't be fostered when people only decrease the frequency of buying technology devices.

What is equally significant is that cooking at home, healthy and meaningful activity in daily life, will also help decline the living costs. More money, to be paid in restaurants, will be saved by cooking at home. Going to the restaurants with friends, regular in everyone's life will cost a great amount of money because we have to pay for the service in the way of tips to the waiters in the restaurants. This partition of life expensive can be saved if we cook at home. At the same time, we also save the cost of transportation to the restaurant. What's more, by preparing the meal at home, people will become more healthy since they can control the ingredient in the food, instead of depending on the cook in the restaurant. We can make more healthy food for ourselves and keep a balanced diet, reducing the possibility of obesity and heart disease. Besides, the fewer people eat in the restaurant, the fewer risks people will take to get sick. Therefore, cooking at home could lower the frequency of going to the hospital, reducing life expenses potentially. This can not be achieved by just sharing expenses with roommates.

In conclusion, living expenses, a significant element in people's life, can be effectively decreased if we can shop for less expensive food and cook at home due to the positive impact on thrift and healthy habit.