Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my opinion, whether formal education tends to restrain people's minds and spirits depend on the different kind of education institution. For elementary and vocational schools, students' mind are restricted; however, college education tends to set students' mind free.

In elementary and vocational education, formal education tend to restrain student's mind and spririt. In the classroom, teachers have to impart fundamental expertise and rules in order to let the students have a basic understanding about the world and how to act as a citizen. For example, students will understand basic math and physic law, and they will also learn ethnic rules. When the students have violent behavior such as bullying others, teachers will punish them so as to correct their bad behavior. During these whole process, the mind and spirits of adolescent is restricted, excluding them from incorrect behavior and leading them to the realm of science.

Unlike in the elementary school,In the college, students' mind and spirits are not limited by the education system. Professors in the university encourage students to explore the world of science freely. With the fundamental knowledge they have acquired before, they are able to learn more in the field they are interested in. Since as they obtain more and more expertise in a certain field, they are able to do further research to discover new findings. They are not limited in the boundary of the knowledge existed, and they also have the chance to doubt the founded theory once there are new evidence. As the scientific society encourage such behavior, student's are stimulated to think freely and come up with diversified and creative ideas.

In addition, people's mind are confined in vocational education because they are trained to obey basic professional morals. For example, in medical training school, students will be taught basic rules such as caring about the patients; programming schools may teach some morals that programmer should not collect clients' personal information secreatly.

In conclusion, formal education free students' mind in college; while in elementary and vocational education, student's mind are restricted.