TPO40Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think it is a good idea

Education has always played an inevitable role in every individual’s life. In the past few decades, as time has passed, the competitions among individuals have increased to earn a better score in school. Hence, parents are paying more efforts to encourage their children to get higher grades in the exam. In this regard, some people think that parents should offer money as rewards when children get higher scores in the exam, while others hold the opposite view. From my vantage point, the latter view contains more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that it is a good idea that parents motivate their loved ones to work hard for their exam however, providing money as a reward is not a judicious way to motivate children. To be more specific, children are not matured enough at this age and cannot distinguish between good and bad for them. Hence, getting a financial reward can be used anywhere inappropriately which may cause negative consequences in children’s life. To shed more light on this, when my brother was in high school, he used to get a reward from his parents after achieving higher grades in the exam. Consequently, he started using that money to buy cigarettes and he got addicted to it. Luckily, I caught him with cigarettes and made him realize his mistake. Therefore, had I not made him realize his mistake, his health would have badly affected by a smoking habit.

Furthermore, another noteworthy point is that there are various other ways whereby parents can motivate their children besides providing money. In other words, children would not learn any motives behind getting money after achieving a higher score whereas, making a promise to buy their favorite possessions will push them to do well in the exam. Also, it is always good for children to get involved in such possessions instead of dealing with money at this age. My own experience is a compelling example of this. From my childhood, I liked playing with barbie dolls. Therefore, my parents used to motivate me to work harder to achieve the first rank in the exam to get a barbie doll. Thus, I started working hard for my exams so that I could get a new barbie.

Lastly, giving money to their kids depending on their performance might foster their overall grades, while the negative consequences are overweighed the positive ones. To be more specific, children get habituated to using money to buy their personal products. Meanwhile, if parents will stop providing it, children will no longer work hard for their exams and might cheat in the exam to gain good scores. Gradually, children would start looking for other options to earn money and may get deviated from their education. Thereby, parents should need to look for possible consequences before providing financial rewards.

All in all, after contemplating remarks I strongly believe that it is not a good idea to gift money as a reward to the children. This is because they might lose interest in their studies if their parents would stop giving them money and because they might spend that earning inappropriately.