TPO40

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think it is a good idea?

In at attempt to entice their children to buckle down in learning, some parents always promise a financial reward for each high marks children get in school. Nevertheless, I deem that counterproductive are these promises of money for high grades.

To begin with, money rewards may potentially ruin the outlook of children. When there is a scarcity of right guidance from parents, children, who are not sophisticated as any adults, would be probably misled easily about the functions of money. And they virtually have a quite straightforward understanding of how to manage money. On the contrary, praise might be an appropriate way for parents in response to children’s excellent performance in school. praising the effort that children are putting into their schoolwork can help them find their own inner-push to succeed.

Moreover, parents’ bribes with cash for each high marks would contribute to the cultivation of children’s bad habits. children are likely to be more and more greedy—they are inclined to seek more material rewards or even worse have an insatiable demand for money. In other words, these bribes might bring short-term gain but long-term pain to both parents and kids. Alternatively, parents should assist their kids to set their goals and inspire them to work their hardest to reach the goals. It is the inner motivation that renders continuous learning and improvement.

Finally, the financial rewards for children’s positive result in school reduce the motivation and creativity of those youngsters. Influenced by the condition, they would pay more attention to how to get a high grade rather than what degree they should master the knowledge. Consequently, in the course of time, the love of learning goes out, thereby weakening the thirst of knowledge, decreasing the drive for achievement, and stopping the exploration of the unknown.

Drawing from the points discussed above, I would like to reinforce my perspective that parents paying money rewards for high grades to their children is merely a short-run solution of incentive to learn, which can alleviate undesirable symptoms but will not address the essential problems.