TPO41 Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A teacher, regarded as a sacred occupation, is responsible for imparting knowledge and educating people. A proverb widely spread in the folk of China is that a teacher for a day is a father for a lifetime, meaning that we are supposed to treat teachers the same as our father, which really means that teachers ought to be respected. However, from my perspective, due to multiple factors, teachers are less and less valued by the present society, compared to the past centuries.

It is the quality gap between teachers that threaten their own social status. Since people could reach the standards or qualifications of being a teacher easily nowadays, the good and bad are intermingled in the community of teachers. There are countless instances where some so-called teachers, conducting themselves as despicable persons, relentlessly ruin the reputation of the whole group of teachers. social events that the teachers in the kindergarten abused children, that the postgraduates in the university served as free labor for their supervisors, or that some teachers intentionally seized opportunities to sexually assault their students during the courses, pop up every year, which astonishes the society and renders people rethink the divineness of teachers.

The diverse means of learning overshadows the role of teachers in the domain of education. In the past, the scarcity of teaching resources led to teachers-to-students almost the only pattern for the youngsters to acquire knowledge, which contributed to the dignified position of the teachers in that period. Nevertheless, thanks to the inventions and applications of mobile phone, computer, and internet, Massive Open Online courses come into being, and knowledge on these platforms are sufficient for students’ thirst of learning. As a result, teachers are no longer a must for conveying information and knowledge due to those competitive substitutes, thereby degrading the teachers nowadays.

Drawing from the points discussed above, I would like to reinforce my view that the contribution of teachers is being depreciated by today’s society.