TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A proverb widely spread in the folk is that ‘to err is humane’, which means that the life of human beings is premised to unfold in a predictable circulation: people make a mistake; subsequently they correct the error and gain new insights into the world. Admittedly, it is inevitable for teachers or leaders to say something incorrect occasionally in a classroom or a meeting. when it comes to what actions students or employees can take to confront with the mistakes made by their superiors, I am inclined to the first solution that people should interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

To begin with, putting forward the confusion immediately might be the best choice to show respect to others. Due to the wrong cognition of politeness, a majority of people are concerned that their superiors would probably be uncomfortable to be questioned in a public place. Accordingly, after deliberateness and tradeoff, students or employees are like to choose to talk to the teacher or the leader privately or even keep silence about the mistake. Nevertheless, pointing out the mistake right away might be the optimal means of displaying the courteous behavior of a person in this situation. Only when people concentrate on the discussing topic of the speaker, can they discern the error in it.

Furthermore, this action is also conducive to acquiring a right understanding for the rest of audience. Some of the audience, without an ability of critical thinking or a specific amount of knowledge, could not find out the inaccuracy of the illustration by their own, and would undoubtedly believe what their superior has said is right, which is detrimental for their task response. Adversely, if one person could interrupt and correct the error instantly, the audience would have a right understanding of study or work as well as are more likely to be recognized for academic or vocational achievement, thereby the phenomenon of inefficiency can be largely alleviated.

Considering the points discussed above, I would like to reinforce my inclination that students or employees ought to point out the problem once they realize something wrong in a lecture or a meeting.