TPO-43 - Independent Writing TaskImagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wai

A proverb widely spread in the folk is that 'to err is humane', which means that human beings make mistakes unavoidably. When it comes to teacher or leader making a mistake in a class or meeting, some people believe that the best way to do is to interrupt and correct the mistake right away, but the others argue that talking to the teacher or leader later after the class or meeting would a more approximate way. From my perspective, directly correcting the error would be better.

Firstly, interrupting and correcting the mistake right away are the most efficient way to deal with the problem. When the question is raised at the first moment, all the participants still have the context about the topic. It is easier for them to have a clear understanding of the problem. In addition, sometimes a small mistake may affect the understanding of the whole class or meeting. For example, if math teacher is talking a fundamental formula and there is a typo of this formula in his presentation which affects the result of the formula. If the typo remains uncorrected, it may lead to more mistakes in the rest of the class. So correcting the mistake immediately, everyone gets a notification, and there would be no misunderstanding behind. Therefore it is more efficient to solve the problem.

Secondly, everyone has its right to express their ideas even though these ideas may opposite to the ones held by authorities. Truths are not merely come from adopting perspectives from others. Science history abounds with examples of old theories corrected by new ones. Galileo used his Heliocentrism model in which the Earth and planets revolve around the sun at the center of the Solar System to correct the Geocentrism, which placed the Earth at the center. Darwin's theory of evolution by natural replaced the predominant Lamarckism, which is about characteristics acquired through use or disuse. If the greatest the scientists can point out the mistaken make by pioneers why can't we correct a small mistake in a class or a meet?

Admittedly, interrupting a class or a meeting may be impolite and rude. It may also cause a long time debate which will disorder the original agenda of the class or meeting. However, if the teacher or leader is open-minded to criticisms and allows different perspectives, it can help their students or team members to develop a way of critical thinking. Regarding this, the drawbacks of the interruption mean nothing.

From what has been discussed above, we could safely draw the conclusion that student or team members ought to point out the problem once they realize something wrong in a lecture or a meeting.