Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that teachers should try their best to impart academic knowledge to their students. However, when it comes to politics, some people claim teachers should not express their views in the classroom, but the others regard it as dispensible part of education. From my perspective, teachers should make their social or political views public to students.

Firstly, everyone has a right to express his attitude toward social and political problems, and teachers have no exception. History is filled with countless examples that teachers expressed their political opinions and had a profound influence on society. Confucius, one of the most celebrated educators in ancient China, had a massive concern about politics. Not only did he give political views to his students, but also teach them to devote themselves to politics to use their wisdom to serve their counties better. Nu xun, one of the greatest writers and also a professor in the university in the 20 century China, published numerous political articles on magazine and newspapers. His articles had a significant impact on the political revolution in the history of China.

Second, by expressing their social or political perspectives, teachers can help students develop a way of critical thinking, which is an essential characteristic for eligible intellectuals. Students may disagree with the stances of their teachers, and they can have debates together. Truth always becomes more apparent after a debate. In this way, students can know more about right from wrong and become more concern about the issues of their society and contribute efforts to reform it. Many great social revolutions were mainly or initially led by students, such as the February Revolution in Franch, and the May 4th Revolution in China.

Admmitly, when teachers explain and discuss their political attitudes in the classroom, it may take up some of the time the students originally can use for their academic study. However, when compared to its advantages, this concern becomes nothing. Education not only means imparting academic but also cultivating students to become responsible citizens. In this regard, political teaching plays a pivotal role in students' beliefs formation.

To sum up, I strongly assert that the advantages of explaining political issues by teachers in classrooms can outweigh its mentioned disadvantage since it can improve students critical thinking and discussion skills, also make them become responsible citizens.