TPO-20 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It's generally believed that everyone desires to achieve continuous success. However, most people stay in their comfort zones, feel reluctant to try new opportunities that may lead them to a high level of fulfillment. On the contrary, excellent people attempt to take risks rather than only stay unchanged.

Firstly, innovations from experiencing different stuffs is a significant factor for success. It is widely acknowledged that no IT companies acquire success without innovations such as Google’s Page Rank algorithm, Facebook’s recent refinement and Apple’s annual system update . Another more concrete example is that Airbnb has taken its place as a great competitor in both IT and hotel industry during the past decade . Its success may be chiefly traced back to the brand new notion that accommodation sharing can be more convenient and economical. To implement this idea, Airbnb did take many risks at the beginning, and it once almost went bankrupt, but eventually, with the increasing acceptance of the shared economy theory, its overall business expanded rapidly all over the world.

Secondly, trying novel things is the only way to develop a personal style which is essential for the success, especially in music and art areas. It is quite common that musicians and artists may start their careers by imitating others' works. However, the remarkable success never comes from this simple copy-paste strategy. Musicians and artists need to have a distinct style to fascinate audiences. For example, one of the greatest rock bands, the Beatles, is a pioneer in the rock and roll music who broke the limit of traditional rock and roll by adopting many exotic instruments. They even employed a sizeable orchestra band for some of their songs, which was very rare and crazy at that time. However, this own style which went beyond the stereotype of rock and roll music gave people a feeling of fresh and that led to their legendary in the future.

Thirdly, sometimes taking risks to innovate is unavoidable for success especially in high tech areas. Although we can escape from these risks, we can control them to some extent. Elon Musk, who is a CEO for several innovative companies including Tesla, SpaceX and The Boring Company, is a master of trying out creative ideas and controlling risks. In SpaceX, he was trying to make the first recycled rocket in the world, and he had made the launch day public. Unfortunately, the company encountered some serious problems in the development and it would be very risky to launch it as scheduled. After a serial of analyses, he decided to postpone the launch to reduce the risks. At first, people are ironical for the delay and thought that he might never succeed. However, the company tackled the problems and finally launched the rocket successfully, and the whole world was boiling over.

From what has been discussed above, we can reach the conclusion that staying in the comfort zone is the greatest enemy of further success. We should try our best to take new opportunities and control risks to some extent on our way to achieve our goals.