The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

In the letter from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books, it is stated that Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store by replacing the children's book session to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books. The directors had come to this recommendation based on a recent national census about young children as well as an action of its competitor -- Regal Books. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, there are three questions that must be answered.

First of all, can a national census can accurately reflect the exact circumstances of the neighborhood where Monarch Book open its store. In other words, is the city also has a decline in the number of children under ten that is similar to the whole country? It is possible that the circumstances of the city is not comparable to most of the other cities -- perhaps the city has the highest quality of elementary school education resources that attracted many parents migrate to the city. Therefore, even there is a reducement in children's population in the country as a whole, an increment is ocurring in the city. If this scenario has merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened

Secondly, are mostly those consumers of children's books are children? The directors prematurely assume that the population of the children is strongly connected to the sales of the children's books. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps most of the books are bought by the children's parents. With an increasing number of parents realize the importance of childhood education for their kids, the sales of children's books are steadily increasing every year. Moreover, some of the comic books which are regards as children's books may be widely accepted by the adults. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, are Regal Books and Monarch Books roughly comparable? It is possible that Regal Books located in the CBD of the city where most of the office employees are coffee consumers, whereas Monarch Books located in a community where most of the residents do not have a habit of drinking coffee. Since Monarch Books has an excellent reputation for its wide selection of books, replacing the children's books section may cause the discontent of the consumers, while Regel Book does not have such a risk.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, it is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the directors are able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to open a cafe in the book store.